How to Delete Contacts on Telegram

When scrolling through your contact list on Telegram, you might find a few unknown contacts. Also, there are times when Telegram also sends notifications that one of your contacts joined Telegram, but you don’t recognize the contact.

In such cases, you would want to delete the contact immediately, and you don’t know how. This guide will walk you through deleting Telegram contacts on different platforms.


Telegram is available on all major platforms like Android, iOS, macOS, and Windows. When you sign in to Telegram on any platform, it syncs all the contacts from the platform to your Telegram account.

If you signed in to your Telegram account on someone else’s computer or phone, you’d have most of their contacts in your account.

It’s not always user-friendly for Telegram to sync contacts from multiple devices, and it’s another reason why you might want to stop using Telegram.

You can delete a contact from your Telegram account on any platform. Also, when you delete a contact on Telegram, you’ll still have the contact on your phone but deleted from your Telegram account. However, if you want to delete a contact permanently, you’ll have to delete contacts from your iPhone, Android, Windows, or Mac device.

How to Delete a Telegram Contact on Android

The process of deleting contacts on Telegram is pretty simple on Android. Follow these instructions to delete a single Telegram contact on Android.

  1. Open the Telegram app on your Android phone.
  2. Tap the hamburger menu and select Contacts.
  3. Select the contact you’d like to delete.
  4. Tap on their display photo or name.
  5. Hit the three-dots menu on the top right.
  6. Select Delete Contact from the list.
  7. Choose Delete when you get a confirmation prompt.

Follow these steps if you want to delete all Telegram contacts on Android.

  1. Tap the hamburger menu on Telegram.
  2. Choose Settings from the menu.
  3. Select Privacy and Security.
  4. Scroll down and select the Delete Synced Contacts option.

How to Delete a Telegram Contact on iOS, iPadOS, and macOS

Deleting Telegram contacts on iOS, iPadOS, and macOS is similar on these Apple platforms but different from Android. Here’s how to delete a single contact from Telegram on iOS, iPad, or macOS.

  1. Open the Telegram app.
  2. Select the Contacts tab.
  3. Choose the contact that you want to delete.
  4. Tap on their display photo or name.
  5. Select the Edit option on the top right.
  6. Tap the Delete Contact option.
  7. Hit the Delete option on the confirmation prompt.

Unfortunately, you can’t delete multiple Telegram contacts on macOS. However, follow these steps if you want to delete all the contacts from your Telegram account on iOS and iPadOS.

  1. Select the Settings tab on the Telegram app.
  2. Tap on the Privacy and Security option.
  3. Scroll down and select Data Settings.
  4. Tap Delete Synced Contacts.

How to Delete a Telegram Contact on Windows and Web

Deleting contacts on both is similar if you access Telegram on Windows PC or a web browser.

Follow these steps to delete a single Telegram contact from your Windows PC and web browser.

  1. Click the hamburger menu in Telegram.
  2. Select Contacts from the menu.
  3. Choose the contact you’d like to delete.
  4. Click on their display picture or name.
  5. Select Delete Contact if you’re on a Windows PC or Edit icon > Delete Contact if you’re on the web.
  6. Click the Delete option when you get the confirmation prompt.

You can’t delete multiple Telegram contacts on Windows or the newest web version. Nevertheless, you can delete them using Telegram’s legacy version.

Here’s how you can switch to the old version and delete multiple contacts on Telegram web.

  1. Open Telegram web by going to web.telegram.org
  2. Click the hamburger menu.
  3. Select the Switch to Old Version option from the menu.
  4. Click the hamburger menu in the old version.
  5. Choose the Contacts option from the menu.
  6. Click the Edit option.
  7. Choose the contacts that you want to delete.
  8. Select the Delete option, and you won’t receive a confirmation prompt.

The Telegram contact(s) will disappear from all platforms when you delete them on one platform. You’ll have to add them manually if you want them back to your Telegram account.

Having these unknown contacts on your Telegram might not be appropriate for you, so luckily you can remove them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *